Thursday, June 12, 2014

Fresh & Reminiscient: Love and Other Foreign Words - Erin McCahn


Love and Other Foreign WordsLove and Other Foreign Words
Date Released: May 1, 2014
Publisher: Dial Books

Pages: 336 pages
Format: Hardcover
Source: Standalone
Rating: Liked
Series: Standalone

Goodreads Synopsis: Perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, Love and Other Foreign Words is equal parts comedy and coming of age--a whip-smart, big-hearted, laugh-out-loud love story about sisters, friends, and what it means to love at all.

Can anyone be truly herself--or truly in love--in a language that's not her own?

Sixteen-year-old Josie lives her life in translation. She speaks High School, College, Friends, Boyfriends, Break-ups, and even the language of Beautiful Girls. But none of these is her native tongue--the only people who speak that are her best friend Stu and her sister Kate. So when Kate gets engaged to an epically insufferable guy, how can Josie see it as anything but the mistake of a lifetime? Kate is determined to bend Josie to her will for the wedding; Josie is determined to break Kate and her fiancé up. As battles are waged over secrets and semantics, Josie is forced to examine her feelings for the boyfriend who says he loves her, the sister she loves but doesn't always like, and the best friend who hasn't said a word--at least not in a language Josie understands.


From Goodreads



Love and Other Foreign Words was one of those books you HAVE to read especially if your a fan of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. And I'm happy to say I fully enjoyed the book! The book hits all your emotion, it's full of witty and sly comments, and a fun protagonist that will have you turning the pages!



One thing I saw immediately that stood out was the storyline. It's fresh, new, and a different take a a cliche love story. Besides the simplicity of the plot, there is a lot more layers throughout the story. We meet Josie, who can't understand love (I mean could we?) and as her sister, Kate is getting married to a guy she doesn't seem fit for Kate, her life spirals. But when all the pieces wall, Josie comes out as a different person in a new light and I love her growth. I love Josie and her witty comments, she is by far one of the most realist characters I read this year and I liked her a lot :)

The book also hit some of my "traits for becoming a good contemporary YA novel"
-A witty protagonist
-Simplicity
-An oddness that makes you keep turning the pages

I like Josie as I read the novel. In the beginning you see her as someone who's trying to navigate herself then as the story progresses we see growth in her. And that's something readers can relate and another reason why I like the book. Love and Other Foreign Word was a book I recommend to fans of John Green, or any contemporary authors. It offers YA contemporaries a different take on a cliche love story/protagonist finding herself. It could definitely be a great summer read also!

0 comments:

Post a Comment

 
Blog Template by In Between Design Studio