Monday, September 21, 2015

The Best of The Best: The Fixer - Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Fixer (The Fixer, #1)The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes 
Date Released: July 7, 2015
Publisher: 
Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 384 pages
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Rating: LOVED IT! (5 Stars)
Series: Standalone!

Goodreads Synopsis: This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather's ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess's classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.


From Goodreads


Wow. Just wow. I loved everything in Barnes's new book The Fixer, from it's strong heroine to a suspenseful story line set in the scandalous DC, it was perfect! I've read a couple of Barnes's other books, but The Fixer tops all of them off, and possibly is one of my favorite reads of 2015 so far! 

The Fixer begins when Tess Kendrick's life is turned in a whole different direction when her sister, Ivy Kendrick takes her away from her grandfather. Tess's relationship with grandfather has been strong ever since the death of her parents. Ivy then whisks her away into the political, social bubble of DC where she is enrolled in Hardwicke Academy, where all the rich and powerful elite children go. But Tess knows something is up and she begins question who her sister really is and the power she hold in DC, known as "the fixer". I absolutely loved Tess, she was a good smart, sassy, and knew what she had to do. She was the type of person you know would do anything to undercover a mystery and Barnes wrote her well. Plus all the other characters, such as Ivy, Adam, Vivie were all great, they each had their own struggles that brought the novel together. I honestly felt sooo sad for Vivie, especially the things she goes through, that was brutal!

Action and suspense are the bread and butter to the novel. I loved the suspense after each chapter, Barnes always leaves you hanging making you read more and more. Tess learns so much more about her family, herself, and the world she is now part of, I did feel sad for her, but she is a tough character and she fought it through. Another aspect I loved was the whole Scandal vibes I got from this! I felt like I saw Ivy as Olivia Pope and it oozed Scandal. If you have not picked up that TV show, it is a must watch! 

Overall, I LOVED The Fixer a perfect balance of romance, action, scandal, and drama. Perfect for any reader looking for a great suspenseful, scandalous novel, YOU NEED TO PICK THIS ONE UP!

5 comments:

  1. Wow, you've made me very curious about the book with your lovely review! It's so nice that the book also ended up being the perfect read for you. That always puts me in a slump because then I want every book to be like the previous. :P Great review!

    Sarika @ The Readdicts

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh it's good to know that this is a stand alone! And Ms. Barnes sure know how to create that perfect suspenseful air!

    ReplyDelete
  3. FreeNoPass is a brand new website which will give you the opportunity to get free Gift Cards for Google Play, Xbox, PlayStation, Steam, iTunes, Amazon and eBay. By having a Gift Card codes you will be given the opportunities to purchase games and other apps from online stores...

    ReplyDelete
  4. Super Mario Run Coins Hack Our team just created the Generator Tool Online that will help you to get free Coins in no time.
    Access Online Generator: Super Mario Run Glitch Get completely free no cost 14,000 Coins Today!

    ReplyDelete

 
Blog Template by In Between Design Studio