Monday, May 4, 2015

Refreshing & Heartbreaking: All The Bright Things - Jennifer Niven

All the Bright PlacesAll The Brights by Jennifer Niven
Date Released: January 6, 2016
Publisher: Knopf

Pages: 388 pages
Format: Hardcover
Source: From Library
Rating: 4 Stars
Series: Standalone!

Goodreads Synopsis: The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Includes a PDF Help Line Resource Guide and a Note Read by the Author.
 



From Goodreads



All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven was such a heartbreaking, roller-coaster-of-emotions type of book. I was blown away on how amazing and touching the book became for me as I was reading it. Definitely pick this one up if your looking for a TFIOS-esque book, Niven does a great job of telling a tragic love story.

The book alternates between two main characters; Violet Markey, a girl who's counting the days until graduation, ready to escape her life. And Theodore Finch, a boy was is enticed by the idea of death, but never actually commits suicide. Niven weaves the two together when Finch saves Violet from a "fall" off the school building. I loved how I could easily distinguish which character was who as I was reading. It was so easy to get sucked into Violet and Finch's mind. Each one had faced so many struggles (Violet dealing with her sister's recent death and Finch dealing with his fascination with death) that draw them together. I liked seeing their relationship comes full circle and as you read more and more into the book, get ready to be an emotional wreck! Niven crafted such a great novel, it's bound to hit home for any reader.


One thing I liked about All The Bright Places was its message about living life to the fullest. Finch made Violet do things she never saw herself doing and was inspiring seeing them take risks because life's too short to play it safe. The book was also blurbed as for "fans of The Fault In Our Stars" and I think it does have similar elements, but Niven's book stands out by two very special characters that easily moves the reader. 

Overall, I loved All The Bright Places it was such a refreshing yet heartbreaking (the end!) read. I love Finch and Violet and the book was such an inspiring reader, cannot wait for the movie! Elle Fanning will kill in this movie!


4 comments:

  1. I'm excited for the movie too, although I'm not sure I'll be able to sit through it without bawling my eyes out haha. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I still haven't seen TFioS movie. Would rather sob in private!
    Jen at YA Romantics

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have a feeling I will be in the same boat when I read this. I really should hike up my skirt and just dive in!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This book was pretty sad. Great review!

    ReplyDelete

 
Blog Template by In Between Design Studio